The Shift in the Digital Era Is Clear

Digitalization is nothing new. We have already embraced a number of leaps in technology and IT innovations, and these steps forward have profoundly altered our society and the world of business. The current shift, however, is moving at a greater speed and is more pervasive than ever before. The decision-making process is becoming increasingly rapid, which in turn increases the demand for real-time analyses and short-term prognoses, and also puts the spotlight on the highly automated interpretation of big data. Rapid analysis “during match play” rather than “after match play” is what will make the difference.

At Hirschmann Automotive, we are also in the midst of a digital transformation, which includes comprehensive networking of all of our areas of business. On the manufacturing level, for example, this means creating a “smart factory” – a process in which the product itself and the manufacturing facilities communicate with one another with help from intelligent information technologies, allowing for more efficient and more flexible implementation.

The prerequisites for the smart factory are powerful IT tools and IT specialists with extensive training. By building up our business intelligence department, we are paving the way for the handling of extremely large amounts of data, also called big data, and eventually for automated predictive and prescriptive analytics.

As part of this shift toward digital corporate management, we want to shift our management concept from reactive-analytic to proactive-predictive. Every employee in the company should have direct access to the data he or she needs and be able to analyze that data on their own using the tools described above. This will also change the role of the financial department. For the controller, this means losing their status as the central data collector and evaluator. Instead, they will act increasingly like a business partner for the operative departments, ensuring that the management model remains consistent, driving and challenging others, offering detailed communication, and establishing fact-based transparency along the value chain, all within a network of virtual business units, colleagues from all operative departments, and the IT department.

We are currently in the middle of a major shift – digitalization and industry 4.0 – and this is how we want to transform Hirschmann Automotive in order to meet the challenges of the new digital era.

Contact

Hirschmann Automotive GmbH
Oberer Paspelsweg 6-8
6830 Rankweil, Austria
Phone: +43 (0)5522 307-0
Email: info@hirschmann-automotive.com

Wandel der digitalen Ära deutlich spürbar

Die Digitalisierung ist keine neue Erscheinung: Technologiesprünge und IT-Innovationen fanden bereits in der Vergangenheit statt, und sie führten zu tief greifenden Veränderungen in der Gesellschaft und der Unternehmenswelt. Beim derzeitigen Wandel sind allerdings die Geschwindigkeit der Veränderung und der Durchdringungsgrad anders. Durch den immer schneller ablaufenden Entscheidungsfindungsprozess erhöht sich der Bedarf an Echtzeitanalysen und kurzfristigen Prognosen. Dadurch rückt die größtenteils automatisierte Interpretation von Massendaten (»Big Data«) mehr und mehr in den Vordergrund. Entscheidend ist dabei die rasche Analyse »währenddessen« und nicht »danach«.

Auch wir bei Hirschmann Automotive befinden uns mitten in der digitalen Transformation hin zu einer durchgängigen Vernetzung aller Unternehmensbereiche. Auf der Produktionsebene ist hier beispielsweise die Smart Factory zu nennen: ein Prozess, in welchem Produkt und Fertigungsanlage dank der Unterstützung intelligenter Informationstechnologien miteinander kommunizieren, was eine effizientere und flexiblere Umsetzung ermöglicht.

Voraussetzung dafür sind leistungsfähige IT-Instrumente sowie bestens ausgebildete IT-Spezialisten. Mit dem Aufbau unserer Business-Intelligence-Abteilung ebnen wir den Weg zur Bearbeitung riesiger Datenmengen und der automatisierten Erkenntnisgewinnung (»Predictive and Prescriptive Analytics«).

Im Rahmen der digitalen Unternehmenssteuerung soll das Steuerungskonzept von reaktiv-analytisch hin zu proaktiv-prognostizierend verändert werden. Jede Mitarbeiterin und jeder Mitarbeiter im Unternehmen soll auf die für sie bzw. ihn relevanten Daten direkt zugreifen und Analysen mit den oben beschriebenen Tools eigenständig durchführen können. Damit ändert sich auch das Rollenbild im Finanzbereich: Für den Controller bedeutet es den Verlust seines Status als zentraler Datensammler und -auswerter. Er wird immer mehr zum Businesspartner operativer Abteilungen, der für ein durchgängiges Steuerungsmodell sorgt, antreibt, herausfordert, intensiv kommuniziert und dem Ziel der faktenbasierten Transparenz der Wertschöpfungskette verpflichtet ist – inmitten eines Netzwerks von virtuellen Arbeitseinheiten und Kollegen aus den operativen Abteilungen sowie der IT.

Wir befinden uns bereits mitten im Wandel, mitten in der Digitalisierung und Industrie 4.0 – dies sind unsere Visionen, nach denen wir uns bei Hirschmann Automotive in der neuen digitalen Ära transformieren.

Kontakt

Hirschmann Automotive GmbH
Oberer Paspelsweg 6-8
6830 Rankweil, Österreich
Telefon: +43 (0)5522 307-0
Email: info@hirschmann-automotive.com