Pretty smart – digitalization and electromobility pave the way to the future

2019 is already well underway, and this year we will be taking into account precisely the same risks as in 2018, in particular those linked to geopolitical developments and emission limits. However, we are also presented with some great opportunities, as society is on the verge of a huge transformation. We are all familiar with these developments, and there are two that I want to focus on in this blog: digitalization and electromobility.

Faster, leaner and with optimized processes: Over the course of the 120 years that have passed since the industrial revolution, we have created and perfected series production in its current form. We have now reached the end of this process of refinement and macro optimization, and the digital revolution follows in the wake of the industrial revolution. The world of today is smart. Smart homes, smartphones, smart production, smart logistics, smart factories – digitalization is shaping up to completely revolutionize our whole society and the way we work. It is a global trend, and it would be disastrous to oppose it or even just ignore it. We also have to develop, help set new trends, and keep on constantly learning. Learning is not only fascinating and good for keeping our minds in shape, it also opens new doors behind which a whole host of opportunities await us.

The German automobile industry and its suppliers have invested hundreds of millions of euros in electromobility. Hirschmann Automotive has also been contributing to the development of new technologies for a number of years, and some of our high-voltage products are already in their second generation. But our main focus until now was on development. Sales were moderate, and high-performance electric cars were lacking. This is all set to change over the next two years. Almost every OEM will be launching new models whose design, range, and performance are very promising. Over the course of the next few years, we will find out whether electric cars become a popular choice, and perhaps even an essential alternative due to strict emissions requirements in the world’s cities. Things are set to stay interesting!

Contact

Hirschmann Automotive GmbH
Oberer Paspelsweg 6-8
6830 Rankweil, Austria
Phone: +43 (0)5522 307-0
Email: info@hirschmann-automotive.com

Ganz schön smart! Digital und elektromobil in die Zukunft

Das Jahr 2019 ist bereits in vollem Gange, und auch in diesem Jahr müssen wir dieselben Risiken bedenken wie im vergangenen Jahr. Allen voran die geopolitischen Themen und die Emissionsgrenzwerte. Aber wir sehen uns auch Chancen gegenüber, denn unsere Gesellschaft steht vor einem gewaltigen Umbruch. Jeder von uns kennt die Themen, von denen ich mich hier auf zwei konzentrieren möchte: die Digitalisierung und die Elektromobilität.

Schneller, leaner und prozessverfeinert: In den mehr als 120 Jahren seit der industriellen Revolution haben wir den heutigen Stand der Serienfertigung hervorgebracht und ihn zur Perfektion getrieben. Aber nun sind wir am Ende der Verfeinerung und der damit einhergehenden Makrooptimierung angelangt. Auf die industrielle Revolution folgt jetzt die digitale Revolution. Heute wird alles smart: Smart Home, Smart Phone, Smart Production, Smart Logistics, Smart Factory … Die Digitalisierung wird unsere Gesellschaft und auch unsere Arbeitswelt einschneidend verändern. Sie ist ein globaler Trend, und es wäre fatal, sich ihr zu verweigern oder gar zu widersetzen. Auch wir müssen uns weiterentwickeln, die Trends selbst mitgestalten und dazulernen. Lernen ist zum einen extrem spannend und hält unseren Geist fit, und zum anderen öffnet es neue Türen, hinter denen viele Chancen auf uns warten.

In die Elektromobilität haben die deutsche Automobilindustrie und deren Zulieferer Hunderte Millionen Euro gesteckt. Auch Hirschmann Automotive beteiligt sich seit vielen Jahren an den neuen Technologien, und wir sind zum Teil schon in der zweiten Generation unserer Hochvoltprodukte. Bisher lag das Augenmerk aber vor allem auf der Entwicklung. Die Verkaufszahlen waren mäßig, und es fehlte an performanten Elektroautos. In diesem und im nächsten Jahr wird sich das ändern. Nahezu alle OEMs bringen neue Modelle auf den Markt, deren Design, Reichweite und Performance vielversprechend sind. In den kommenden Jahren wird sich entscheiden, wie die Elektroautos angenommen werden und ob sie aufgrund der strengen Emissionsanforderungen in den Städten sogar unausweichlich werden. Es bleibt spannend!

Kontakt

Hirschmann Automotive GmbH
Oberer Paspelsweg 6-8
6830 Rankweil, Österreich
Telefon: +43 (0)5522 307-0
Email: info@hirschmann-automotive.com