Hirschmann Automotive’s Brainstormer-in-chief Starts Well-deserved Retirement

On Monday June 20, 1977, Kurt Ellensohn started out on his career as a young designer at Richard Hirschmann GesmbH, right after finishing his schooling and completing military service. After 43 years and 42 days, the next big phase of life for the always jovial brains behind many of our innovations is imminent, because Kurt is starting his well-deserved retirement.

Around 40 years ago, the company began to focus on automotive connector technology – still terra incognita in those days – in addition to receptor and transmission technology. This was a perfect match for Kurt, because he was always a visionary, inventor, hobbyist, and doer. From that moment on, he was able to pursue his great passion and – just as importantly – make the most of his talents.

Compared to today, the conditions and methods of working were considerably less advanced. There were no modern tools or software for support, no smartphones, CAD data, 3D printers, or even regulated corporate processes. The designers worked on a drawing board, sent their drawings to customers in cardboard tubes, created their sample parts and prototypes from any material that was on hand, and drove across the country to the OEMs to present their ideas and designs in person and land some orders.

And back in those days, there were no standard 7 am to 5 pm working days. Work continued at home, contemplating concepts, and in the morning our fingers were already itching to try out the ideas that came up overnight.

 

A brief excerpt of highlights from 43 years

It’s incredibly hard to narrow down the most significant product developments that have originated in Kurt’s mind. This is due to the fact that the entirety of the product range for entry into the automotive industry was significantly developed by Kurt.

His first product will certainly be remembered: a loudspeaker connector (plug and socket) for the Becker car radio, which was standardized across the series for a well-known OEM.

Another special highlight was the 1 mm contact (socket and pin) with a CuBe2 blade as contact part, which served as the initial basis for countless further product developments for a number of well-known OEMs.

The first exceptionally large project was a rear-axle plug distribution for the Roadster. This required some big thinking in order to achieve the customer’s requirements, because all sensors on the rear axle (ABS, ASR, BBVA etc.) needed to be combined at a central separation point and plugged-in externally, contacted electrically, and locked mechanically. The complexity, size, and interaction of all parts were immense challenges that the entire project team had to deal with, but ultimately this was successfully implemented. After an extremely rapid development period of six months, the contact was installed for the first time, subsequently being adapted for further vehicle models.

Further fundamental developments included – to name but a few – an adjustable and heatable 5-pin exterior mirror connector with fork-and-knife contact, an 8-pin (1 mm) interior mirror connector for memory controls and also for the first infrared remote controls, an 8 -pin angled plug connection, a 3-pin door latch query, and countless other plug connections.

Before becoming engaged with product development for automotive contacts, Kurt was also instrumental in the transfer of the newly developed Slany design, which was integrated into the test lead and laboratory program, and also worked with industrial connectors. The design gave the Hirschmann Automotive connector range a striking appearance for its time (three recessed lines) and made it instantly distinguishable from competitors’ products. The Slany design is still in use today.

The IC tester is another pinnacle among Kurt’s wealth of ideas. This was developed at the end of the 1970s for the testing of integrated circuits within the laboratory program.

In recent years, the focus of Kurt’s work has been on fundamental issues, patents and trademarks, processing research allowances and special projects, such as that of the Hirschmann Automotive Pedelec (e-bike), which was developed in 2012. In addition, he continued to work as an internal trainer at the Hirschmann Automotive Academy for basic topics such as materials, processes, products etc., continuing to pass on his extensive knowledge to employees right up until his retirement.

 

„A great deal has changed during my four decades at Hirschmann Automotive. At the management level, the product portfolio, the branches of industry in which it is involved, and even the name of the company itself. I am very proud to have been a witness to these exciting changes and, above all, to have helped to shape them. I’m also extremely grateful that the company has always given me the freedom, the necessary resources, and the trust to implement my ideas. I have been able to experience a fantastic professional life, and I can only wish that everyone else would have an experience like mine.“ Kurt Ellensohn

 

With the departure of Kurt Ellensohn, a real luminary – one who has had a major impact on the history of Hirschmann Automotive – leaves the room. We thank you for your tireless efforts, your achievements, and your helpful and always-friendly dealings with your colleagues. You have had an impressive career and have always enriched us with your presence; both intellectually and as a person. All the best for your future!

 

Corinna Kühschweiger, Head of Human Resources Rankweil:

“Kurt can proudly look back on many successful years at Hirschmann Automotive. He has played a significant role in the company’s successes, and approached his work with passion and zest. Whether in the development of new products, at the internal product training courses, in the Hirschmann Automotive e-bike team, or at one of our many enjoyable celebrations where he has been a welcome and jovial guest. For any job that Kurt committed to, he always carried it out by fully dedicating himself to it. There were no half measures. He was an employee you could always count on 100%. I would also like to thank Kurt for his great commitment and the appreciation he has shown me at all times, as well as the many interesting and fun conversations we have had. I wish him the best in his next phase of life. I am grateful that I have been able to work alongside Kurt for 22 years.”

Contact

Hirschmann Automotive GmbH
Oberer Paspelsweg 6-8
6830 Rankweil, Austria
Phone: +43 (0)5522 307-0
Email: info@hirschmann-automotive.com

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to provide an optimal website experience. This includes cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site and statistics cookies. You decide which categories you want to allow. Please note that based on your settings, not all functionalities may be available. Further information: Privacy policy & Imprint.

Denkschmiede von Hirschmann Automotive geht in wohlverdienten Ruhestand

Am Montag, dem 20. Juni 1977 startete Kurt Ellensohn direkt nach abgeschlossenem Schulabschluss und geleistetem Militärdienst, seine Karriere als junger Konstrukteur bei der Richard Hirschmann GesmbH. Nach 43 Jahren und 42 Tagen steht nun der nächste große Lebensabschnitt für die wandelnde Ideenwerkstatt und Frohnatur bevor, denn Kurt tritt seinen wohlverdienten Ruhestand an.

Vor rund 40 Jahren konzentrierte sich das Unternehmen erstmalig neben der Empfangs- und Sendetechnik, auf den noch unangetasteten Bereich für Automotive Steckverbindungstechnik. Dieser Umstand war wie gemacht für Kurt, denn in ihm steckte schon immer ein Visionär, Tüftler, Bastler und Macher. Von nun an konnte er seiner großen Leidenschaft nachgehen und vor allem sein Talent ausschöpfen.

Im Vergleich zu heute, gestalteten sich die Arbeitsweise und -bedingungen um ein Vielfaches primitiver. Es gab keine modernen Tools und Software zur Unterstützung, keine Smartphones, CAD-Daten, 3D-Drucker oder gar reglementierte Unternehmensprozesse. Die Konstrukteure arbeiteten am Zeichenbrett, versendeten ihre Zeichnungen in Kartonrollen an Kunden, erstellten ihre Musterteile und Prototypen aus Materialien, die gerade zur Hand waren und fuhren persönlich zu den OEMs, um ihre Ideen und Konstruktionen vorzustellen und Aufträge an Land zu ziehen.

Auch gab es damals keine klassischen Arbeitstage, die um 7 Uhr begonnen und um 17 Uhr geendet haben. Nach der Arbeit wurde Zuhause weiter getüftelt, überlegt und schon am Morgen vor Arbeitsbeginn hat es in den Fingern gejuckt, um die in den Nachtstunden entstandenen Ideen auszuprobieren.

 

Ein kleiner Ausschnitt aus 43 Jahren

Bei der Frage nach den signifikantesten Produktentwicklungen, die aus Kurts Denkschmiede stammen, fällt eine Klassifizierung äußerst schwer. Denn die gesamte Produktpalette für den Einstieg in die Automobilindustrie wurde maßgebend von Kurt entwickelt.

In Erinnerung geblieben ist gewiss sein erstes Produkt: ein Lautsprecheranschluss (Stecker und Kupplung) für das Autoradio der Firma Becker, der bei einem namhaften OEM baureihenübergreifend standardisiert wurde.

Ein besonderes Highlight war die 1 mm Kontaktierung (Buchse und Stift) mit einer CuBe2-Lamelle als Kontaktierungsteil, die als Basis für unzählige weitere Produktentwicklungen anfänglich für einen und in weiterer Folge für weitere bekannte OEMs fungierte.

Das erste außergewöhnlich große Projekt war eine Steckverteilung für eine Hinterachse im Roadster. Für die Realisierung der Kundenwünsche musste in enormen Dimensionen gedacht werden, denn alle Sensoren an der Hinterachse (ABS, ASR, BBVA etc.) sollten in einer zentralen Trennstelle zusammengefasst und von außen aufgesteckt und elektrisch kontaktiert sowie mechanisch verriegelt werden. Die Komplexität, Größe und das Zusammenspiel aller Teile war eine immense Herausforderung, die das gesamte Projektteam gefordert hat, aber schlussendlich erfolgreich umgesetzt wurde. Nach der äußerst knappen Entwicklungszeit von 6 Monaten wurde die Kontaktierung erstmalig verbaut und nachfolgend für weitere Fahrzeugmodelle adaptiert.

Weitere fundamentale Entwicklungen waren – nur um ein paar Wenige zu nennen – ein verstellbarer und beheizbarer 5-poliger Außenspiegel-Steckverbinder mit Gabel- und Messerkontaktierung, ein 8-poliger (1 mm) Innenspiegelsteckverbinder für Memoriesteuerungen sowie für die ersten Infrarot-Fernbedienungen, eine 8-polige Winkelsteckverbindung, eine 3-polige Türfallenabfrage und unzählige weitere Steckverbindungen.

Vor der Produktentwicklung für Automotive-Kontaktierungen war Kurt ebenfalls maßgebend bei der Übertragung des neu entwickelten Slany-Designs beteiligt, das in das Messleitungs- und Laborprogramm sowie bei Industriesteckverbindern integriert wurde. Das Design lieferte dem damaligen Steckverbinder-Programm von Hirschmann Automotive ein markantes Erscheinungsbild (drei vertiefte Linien) und machte es auf den ersten Blick unverkennbar gegenüber Produkten der Konkurrenz. Bis heute ist das Slany-Design im Einsatz.

Der IC Tester ist ein weiteres Highlight, das aus Kurts Ideenreichtum entsprungen ist. Dieser wurde Ende der 70er Jahre für das Laborprogramm zur Testung von integrierten Schaltkreisen entwickelt.

In den letzten Jahren lag der Schwerpunkt von Kurts Arbeitsbereichen bei Grundlagenthemen, im Patent- und Markenwesen, dem Bearbeiten von Forschungsfreibeträgen sowie speziellen Sonderprojekten, wie beispielsweise dem Hirschmann Automotive Pedelec (E-Bike), welches 2012 entwickelt wurde. Daneben war er bis zuletzt als interner Trainer der Hirschmann Automotive Academy für Grundlagenthemen wie Materialien, Prozesse, Produkte etc. tätig und hat sein umfangreiches Wissen an Mitarbeitende weitergegeben.

 

„Während meiner vier Jahrzehnte bei Hirschmann Automotive hat sich immens viel verändert. Ob gleich auf Managementebene, betreffend dem Produktportfolio, der Namensgebung des Unternehmens oder der Industriezweige. Ich bin sehr stolz, diesen spannenden Wandel miterlebt und vor allem mitgestaltet zu haben und ausgesprochen dankbar dafür, dass mir das Unternehmen stets den Freiraum, die notwendigen Ressourcen und das Vertrauen für die Umsetzung meiner Ideen geboten hat. Ich durfte ein fantastisches Berufsleben erfahren, das ich jedem anderen nur wünschen kann.“ Kurt Ellensohn

 

Mit dem Austritt von Kurt Ellensohn geht eine wahrliche Koryphäe vom Platz, der die Geschichte von Hirschmann Automotive maßgebend geprägt hat. Wir danken dir für deinen unermüdlichen Einsatz, deine erbrachten Leistungen und deinen hilfsbereiten und überaus sympathischen Umgang mit den Kollegen und Kolleginnen. Du hast eine beeindruckende Karriere hingelegt und uns menschlich wie auch intellektuell stets bereichert. Alles Gute für deine Zukunft!

 

Corinna Kühschweiger, Head of Human Resources Rankweil:

“Kurt kann stolz auf viele erfolgreiche Jahre bei Hirschmann Automotive zurück blicken. Er hat hier maßgeblich am Unternehmenserfolg von heute mitgearbeitet und war immer sehr leidenschaftlich und mit vollem Herzblut mit dabei. Sei es, wenn neue Entwicklungen entstanden sind, bei den internen Produktschulungen, im Hirschmann Automotive E-Bike Team oder auch bei vielen gemütlichen Feiern, bei denen er ein gern gesehener Gast war und immer gute Laune verbreitete. Jede Arbeit, die Kurt übernahm, setzte er mit vollem Einsatz um, halbe Sachen sind nichts für ihn. Ein Mitarbeiter auf den man sich immer zu 100% verlassen konnte. Auch ich danke Kurt für seinen tollen Einsatz, die Wertschätzung, die er mir jederzeit entgegen gebracht hat, die vielen interessanten und lustigen Gespräche und wünsche Kurt für seinen neuen Lebensabschnitt nur das Beste. Es freut mich, dass ich 22 Jahre mit Kurt zusammenarbeiten durfte.”

Kontakt

Hirschmann Automotive GmbH
Oberer Paspelsweg 6-8
6830 Rankweil, Österreich
Telefon: +43 (0)5522 307-0
Email: info@hirschmann-automotive.com

Cookie-Einstellungen

Wir verwenden Cookies, um ein optimales Website-Erlebnis zu bieten. Dazu zählen Cookies, die für den Betrieb der Seite notwendig sind und Statistik-Cookies. Sie entscheiden, welche Kategorien Sie zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass auf Basis Ihrer Einstellungen womöglich nicht alle Funktionalitäten zur Verfügung stehen. Weitere Infos: Datenschutzhinweise & Impressum.